I want to live in a world where…

Thomas’ question about our vision for 2050 has got me thinking further than just the environmental/sustainability frame he posed it in.

In 2050 I will be 78. I fully intend to be alive, healthy and active.

I want to live in a world where going to war to solve our differences is considered as pointless and barbaric as making human sacrifices to the sun god to try to influence the weather.

I want to live in a world where using crippling debt to keep third world nations politically compliant to the whims of first world powers is seen as as unjust as indentured servitude and human slavery.

I want to live in a world where exploiting the earth’s resources unsustainably for reasons of commercial gain is perceived as foolish and shortsighted as introducing stoats to New Zealand to control rabbits.

I want to live in a world where deciding whether to consider the rights of indigenous peoples, homosexuals, disabled people, or any other minority group is as academic a question as whether to give women the vote.

I want to live in a world like this, and I intend to do what I can to help create it.

3 Responses to “I want to live in a world where…”

  1. Pete Says:

    I’ve been thinking about this since you put it up, Julian. Great dreams and ideas, and ones I share myself. So how do we take them from ideas into goals, down to strategies, refined into plans for action? They’ll require a lot of buy-in from the general public. To simply take up the top jobs that influence the population, and impose our views by default while Joe Public only follows views would be an unfair manipluation of the people, and it wouldn’t last. It would be a bolt-on accessory to our society, rather than an integrated thread of our culture. We need to make people aware of the value of having a world like you describe. And for the large part, most of us are not interested in anything but TV. That said, there are gaps in my personal goals where this type of activity could fit…

  2. Eric Says:

    Here is a video titled “I Want To Live In A World Where… “http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjJKiCgFlGU

  3. Eric Says:

Leave a Reply

